BE MADE NEW

So tonight I realized something about a real relationship with Jesus. It sounds simple, but I would venture to guess in reality is unemployed by the majority of Christians on the planet. Its something that I believe will determine our passion, confidence, attitude, motivations, and effectiveness.  So as i thought about it tonight, this concept is of utmost importance.

This may sound funny, but do you take a shower every day? If so, why? Probably for multiple reasons. Possibly because it’s refreshing, maybe so you don’t stink and embarrass yourself in public, possibly just to clean off dirt or uncleanliness. I would say the majority of people place a high value on showering daily or at least every other day. Tonight God challenged me with this question. Why do you not place the same value on taking a “spiritual shower” as you do on a physical one?  What do I mean by this? Every day that I don’t connect with Jesus I begin to stink more and more like this world. I begin to lose my spiritual bearings and begin to forget who I am in Christ. It’s also when I begin to embarrass myself and Jesus in public because no one really wants to be around me because I am unappealing to those who I come into contact with.

Some people go for their whole life without the kind of spiritual “cleansing” that I am talking about. I have found that way to many times I go for days or even weeks at a time without a powerful connection and quality time with my maker.  I am desperate for something that can purify my waywardness and wandering heart. That can lock me in to consistency in this area. I don’t want to be known as “that guy” who thinks he is ok, but in reality needs a shower and deodorant badly. No wonder why I sometimes fail to bear fruit, its because I am not starting each day by taking a “spiritual shower” and renewing my commitment to Jesus. Luke 9:23 says this:

23 Then Jesus said to them all: “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me.”

Romans 12:2 puts it this way

Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will.

My interpretation of this is simple. If you don’t want to conform to be just like the world. Take a spiritual shower every day. It will renew your thinking, your hope, get you back on track, help you remember who you are, give you undeniable confidence as you soak in the truth, and you will have the awareness that you actually smell good to those around you and will know how to distinguish the “stench” of the world and lies around you. Spiritual depth is usually found in the discipline of coming to Jesus with the intention and motivation to grow. It’s time for us to begin to live DEEP lives, and to shower daily! 🙂

Here are a few things that are currently helping me to connect and be cleansed daily: (I’m still figuring things out- feel free to comment with your ideas too)

1. I love to go on prayer walks. Just have one ear listening to worship and the other talking out loud to God about anything and everything on my mind. This is a time where I pray for others, my church, family, friends, it’s also when I pray and ask God for the things I need to be a better follower of Him.

2. I love hot chocolate, coffee, or other hot drink that helps relax me and calm my nerves. This helps me to focus on connecting with Jesus.

3. I love listening to worship music and singing songs out at the top of my lungs. Whether this is playing piano or guitar or just going acapella style it doesn’t matter.

4. I love to talk about Jesus with my friends or strangers, it energizes me and get’s me excited about what God is going in the world and the story of my life.

5.  I love to create, write, journal, blog, and let my feelings out. This helps me to remember who I am in Christ and encourages me later on.

6.  I love to serve others. This can be a powerful way to connect with God. Whether its the homeless, at home, church or any other place that there are people in need.

7. I love to read, learn and grow in leadership and character. This happens by reading the bible, great books from pastors, great minds, and influential leaders.

I guess you could say that the things listed above are what helps me daily to remember who I am and to BE MADE NEW.

One thought on “BE MADE NEW

  1. LG says:

    I LOVE this topic! I’ve currently been polling friends to ask when/how they spend time daily with God since I feel like a slacker in that department. Now that I see I am doing some of the same things you are, it makes me feel a bit better. Here’s something I do: I “shower” on my way to work in the a.m. I find the car to be a great place to dedicate my day to the Lord, to listen to music or teaching, and to pray. Doing these things also makes it more difficult to swear at other drivers…

Leave a Reply

